MrsPen's Baby Harry Potter Tutorial

Ok its not really a Halloween costume, but I did use the upcoming halloween holiday as an excuse to dress my baby up for a totally unrelated event. Today is one of my very best gal friend’s birthday! Happy Birthday Leslie! Both my baby and I woke up excited to celebrate with her. We just adore Les! One of the things I love most of all about Les is her innate dorkiness. She’s a dorkus maximus. She likes things like Star Wars. We have that in common. Our dorkiness… not our love for Star Wars. I haven’t even seen half of them. Please don’t tell my husband that.

Anyways, when Les told me she spent her birthday on Harry Potter movies, I got a brilliant idea. Since we both love Harry Potter and I love putting costumes on my little guy, I decided Les needed a personal visit from HP himself for her birthday. And so began my Harry Potter costume making journey.

MrsPen's Baby Harry Potter Tutorial
I started with the scarf. The most exciting part about making the Harry Potter costume to me was this itty bitty baby scarf. It’s so cute and so little. If any crochet nerds are reading this, this was a simple case of 5 double crotchets in a row, changing colors every 7 rows. If anyone is interested in becoming a crochet nerd, I have two words for you: YouTube, man. I swear you could learn how to perform brain surgery by watching YouTube vids.

MrsPen's Baby Harry Potter Tutorial

Next, I made the robe. Now, this was long before I learned how to use a sewing machine a few hours ago. My first attempt at hand stitching the little robe didn’t go so well. The good news is, we already have the Hunchback of Notre Dame half done now.

MrsPen's Baby Harry Potter Tutorial

My second attempt at Harry Potter’s robe went a lot smoother. I just bought an oversized shirt at Wal-Mart for $3.88 and cut it into the shape I wanted.

20121022-225630.jpg
Now when it comes down to it, this robe is nothing more than a graduation gown without the Gryffindor patch. I found a patch on Amazon for 1 cent (plus $4.99 shipping), so I ordered it. Problem solved. Except the stupid patch still hasn’t gotten here. So instead, I took matters into my own hands and made the patch myself with an old t-shirt and some sharpies, and then glued it to the robe. Note- I probably wouldn’t use regular sharpies to do this again. When my baby slobbered on it, it smeared and got ink on him.

MrsPen's Baby Harry Potter Tutorial

I added a tie onsie my friend Jessica had made my baby and the costume was almost complete!

MrsPen's Baby Harry Potter Tutorial
This was when my baby and I decided that we should give Hedwig to Les for her birthday. That way she can send letters via mail owl and save a ton of stamps. Luckily, about the same time I learnt how to use a sewing machine, so this was very easy to whip up with the same old t-shirt I made the Gryffinder patch with. I might write about how I made Hedwig at a later date, this post would be longer than the 7th HP book if I wrote out everything here.

MrsPen's Baby Harry Potter Tutorial

For the glasses, I was planning to throw them together with some pipe cleaners, but when I stopped at the dollar store on my way to the party, I was dismayed to discover they didn’t sell pipe cleaners. Thank God for weird clown glasses at the Dollar Store. At least I think thats what it is. Anyways, when I popped the lenses out, it was perfect for my little Harry!

MrsPen's Baby Harry Potter Tutorial

This kid is so cute I could die! Also, I felt slightly judged when I walking through the Dollar Store with my baby and his lightning bolt forehead.

MrsPen's Baby Harry Potter Tutorial

And finally, after all our hard work, Harry got to meet the birthday girl! Even though he’s teething and congested and bit uncomfortable, when Aunt Les held him, his face lit up. He just loves that lady. By the was, my baby wants to say Happy Birfday Aunt Weswie! I wuv you!

20121022-234525.jpg
So that is how I threw together the first of my baby’s several Halloween costumes this year. Prepare yourselves for the next one. It’s so cute it’s deadly.

Love,
Mrs Pen

